Enchanted Items and Immortal Enchantments

Storing Mana: 

Touchstones & Their Making

Despite all of the mana available in the world through various sources, the character can still be caught short in a Low Mana area, or stand in need of great POT without the time to draw it into a casting by normal procedure. He may have need to set some mana by in store as a hedge against the difficulties circumstances can impose. Rather than drawing mana from the Ambience, normally, or from any of various mortal substances as described previously (which can be so tedious to replace and as such really only for true emergencies), the character can choose to use a spirit exercise to gather Ætheric energy from the Ambience of the kind normally employed by his trade and store it in an object called a Touchstone”.

A Touchstone is a sort of rechargeable battery for storing mana.

It doesn’t generally have to be a [gem]stone at all, but can be any sort of object. It MUST, however, have had a long and close association with the maker (i.e., some scrivener’s tool or a favorite book if the character is a scrivener or Scholar, an archer’s bow, or the like) or a beast like a favorite pet – ANY object, creature or being which falls within the parameters of ownership as described in the “Read” and “Finding” Spirit Skills and Divination dweomers.

Regardless of the specific nature of the Touchstone, it must be created by means of the Art of Naming, none other.

A Touchstone must be prepared for the POT of mana it is to hold, first by means of a “Magick Charm” dweomer must first be used to awaken and open the spiritual aspect of the Touchstone, similar in nature when used to awaken a latent magickal property, BUT without defining what the object, substance, material, creature or being’s spiritual quality is.

Without delay, upon completion of the Magick Charm, a “Power Cache” dweomer must be wrapped around the object, creature or being to define the nature of the Touchstone’s magick as a vessel for carrying Power (mana).

The first touch of the Magick Charm must leave the nature of the Touchstone’s spirit (animus) undefined, for the subsequent Power Cache to establish. This is what makes the Touchstone’s magick truly permanently ingrained – but for use only as a Touchstone. 

Once its spiritual nature is defined as a Touchstone, NO latent magickal properties may be awakened in it afterwards.

IF the object, substance or material has a latent magickal property (not all do), it is left sleeping, remains locked away. An object whose latent magickal nature has already been awakened by means of Magick Charm canNOT be made into a Touchstone.

The “Power Cache” must be cast with a manifest POT less than OR equal to the manifest POT of the “Magick Charm” used to lay the foundation for the Touchstone.

All Magick Charms and all Power Cache charms cast in this process may ONLY be cast by means of Low Magick.

The maker is NOT required to carry the thread “at pleasure” for either dweomer for the purposes of determining DUR after making a Touchstone. A temporary Touchstone is made by means of the “Power Cache” charm on its own, and need not be made only by means of Low (ritual) magick. This is the purpose for this charm as it stands alone in the game.

Once the Touchstone is prepared, the mana may be stored in it. ANY type of mana from any source, whether elemental mana released from gems, crystals, metals, or artifacts from the sea, Day mana, Life mana, Blood mana, Carnal mana, etc. can be collected when they are released and stored in a Touchstone, BUT only ONE (1) type of mana may be stored in a Touchstone at any given time.

IF one of these types of mana are used to cast the Magick Charm and/or the Power Cache, that limits the Touchstone to carrying ONLY that type of mana, or those two, if each charm is cast using a different one.

A Touchstone can hold a number of points of POT in mana equal to the manifest POT of the “Power Cache” dweomer used to create it.

The practitioner may tap as few as one (1) or as many points of POT in the Touchstone as he desires (up to its entire contents), for any casting, without increasing the CTM.

A practitioner may draw from as many as (MGA ÷ 4) OR (TR) Touchstones at any one time for any single casting (whichever is less), BUT they must all be located within (MSS + TR) feet of him and be Attuned to him (as follows).

IF he is also drawing mana from the Ambience to add to it for his casting, the number of Touchstones he may use in that casting falls by one (1).

A practitioner must be Attuned (as follows) to any and all Touchstones from which he wishes to draw mana.

The Touchstones created by a given practitioner are considered to be automatically “attuned“ to him, by definition, until such time as they are taken in hand and Attuned by another practitioner.

.

Making & Defining Enchanted Items

A standard component of the fairytales, fables and myths of all cultures which have survived to be handed down to the modern world is the enchanted item, the object which has one or more superlative or magickal qualities about it which aids the hero in completing his quest, slaying the dragon or monster, rescuing the damsel in distress, and so on. As explained previously in the description of the DUR aspect of the magicks, many magicks provide a (relatively) simple change in the physical nature of an object or substance or location in the physical world. In these cases, once the magick has done its work, the normal laws governing the physical world come back into play again.

A great number of magicks, however, provide a change that Nature in and of itself cannot support, normally – the strengthening of any substance beyond the toughness with which Nature originally granted it, as in the strengthening of magickal armor via an “Armor Enchantment”, or strengthening a castle’s walls via a “Adamant Charm” or “Never Wear” charm, so as to withstand the damage of common, mundane usage or even mundane attacks. There are a myriad of similar magicks to which a practitioner of magick might want to enhance some aspect of an object, such as the “Implacable Edge” or “Foe Hammer” for weapons, or to bestow upon it an extraordinary feature or ability like “Frost-” or “Flame Brand”, “Charm of Retrieval”, and a great variety of others. Having done so, the practitioner might want to make those magickal traits endure far in excess of any DUR the charm might normally possess, to extend in DUR, even to lending them immortality without having to resort to carrying the charm “at his pleasure” according to the optional rules for DUR.

Encountering an enchanted item usually fires the desire in a PC practitioner of magick to obtain the knowledge needed to create such items personally, to have the power to tailor-make such items to his own needs and desires. The rules provide the characters with the means for creating items and especially substances of limited life and use (Power Cache, Dweomer Cache, or alchemical substances carrying magick like potions and unguents) which give them something to fall back on in emergencies so they are not pressed to constantly weave new magicks from scratch under pressure. True magickal or enchanted items stand head and shoulders above such things, however. When the GM allows them to come into play depends first upon the progression of the character in trade SL, and then on the GM in allowing the character to discover, one way or another, the magick(s) which provide the foundation enchantments for forging the more lasting and even immortal enchanted objects. The latter are determined by the pace and flow, and also by the balance of power in the GM’s game.

Until the PC’s have the knowledge and ability to make these objects themselves, the GM needs the information regarding the construction of these items and the rules by which they are used is in case he wishes to throw one into the game, to light that desire in the belly of the PC practitioner(s). The GM might want to give the Bad Guys a limited or temporary advantage, or one of limited power. What a puzzle to drop into the PC’s laps when they triumph over the Bad Guys and finally get the wand he was using against them into their own hands and, while it still registers as magickal, doesn’t seem to work. Knowledge of the process of Attunement requires a successful Lore check using the (magickal) trade SL as the base for the AV. Failing that, the practitioner must go do some research – if he can find the proper tomes.

Although Enchanters are focused on the enchanting of objects in various ways, those who prefer the skills of Enchantment are not the only ones who practice them. Many who focus on the other Arts have the knowledge and ability with Enchantment to make magickal items themselves as well. As stated, Enchantment is a branch drawn from Naming, and Namers are the only ones who can bridge the gap between inanimate objects and the living. The magicks of the Art of Naming see the most use in creating enchanted items of use to the living due to the fact that it is the only Art by which a dweomer which acts on a living creature or being in some way (which would normally require the use of Sorcery) may be bound to an inanimate object (which would normally require an Enchantment).

Glamourie is likely to see similar use insofar as it may be used to bridge the same gap, from object to affecting living creatures and/or beings. Thus, Glamourie and Naming are among the more common Arts used in creating enchanted items, despite their being among the most difficult to cast (relatively speaking).

For the purposes of the game, enchanted items are divided up into “Orders of Magnitude” or just “Order” or “Magnitude”, with the 4th Order generally (but not necessarily) being the weakest and most common, and 1st Order generally (but not necessarily) being the strongest and most rare. The reason the parameters for the Orders cannot be stated absolutely is due to the fact that the magicks that an item of a given Order can contain may be the most innocuous in nature or most deadly, and the fact that the parameters used to describe the Orders of Magnitude have nothing at all to do with the POT of the magicks they contain, but rather with the longevity or regenerative capabilities of their POT, which is determined directly by the relative amount of energy that must be put into them to create them, what the creator had to sacrifice in making them.

At the GM’s option, this system of classification may be included as part of the lore of magickal practitioners in the game world, as the criteria are most meaningful to them, but this is not information they are likely to share with any outside the trade, rather a means for discussing the practice of crafting enchanted items among themselves. Of the practitioner trades, these labels would probably only really be used by Wizards, who are the technicians of magick. However, this gives the PC’s a verbal ‘handle’ by which to discuss the topic without getting out of character, just like POT can be used to discuss magickal power (in general, although “points of POT” would have to be out of character, as being a wholly mechanical game term).

Objects of the 4th Order

The 4th Order is the lowest and is used to describe the most commonly encountered magickal items or substances. The chief attribute of these items or substances is that their power is finite and non-renewable in the sense that, once their POT is exhausted, only the mundane object used as the base to lay the enchantment(s) on remains afterwards (as applicable), to be enchanted anew if desired. A 4th Order enchanted item may be created of any mundane item, personal or household, tool of some worldly profession, or may be created using some consumable substance or foodstuff as a base.

While a 4th Order item or substance can last on the shelf for a very long time, once used up or allowed to fade away, the magick it is imbued with cannot be infused with new life once it is gone, as may be done with 2nd Order items, nor can it regenerate on its own, which happens naturally with 2nd Order items, something that is never a concern with the truly Immortal Enchantments of 4th Order items.

In the case of “consumable” substances, 4th Order objects are considered “consumable” in the same manner as the materials used to cast Low Magicks. Once a magick candle of this type is used up, it is completely burned up, nothing left for further use of any sort. These objects may take the form of a piece of fruit, a vegetable, a roasted piece of meat, or the like which may be eaten to partake of the magick in the same manner as potions, philters or elixirs, unguents, salves, or a posey of flowers which might be taken and worn, especially woven into the hair. Once they have been eaten or drunk down, or applied topically or pinned on or plaited in the hair, etc. (according to their nature) their magick is engaged and manifests. When their DUR expires, they are used up. Nothing remains.

These consumables can be made in one of three ways.

First, they can be concocted by the arts of an Alchemist-Wizard (or Witch, or Druid) wholly, from a magickal formula, as detailed in the description of the Alchemist under the (Hedge-/Hearth-) Wizard trade.

Second, they can be created by the skills of a mundane Alchemist who produces a substance which is malleable to magick which can absorb the dweomer cast upon it by the Arts of some practitioner of magick with whom he is collaborating, as detailed in the “Potion Bases” skill description.

Thirdly, the Wizard (etc.) may take any mundane substance he feels is appropriate (chalk or crayon stick, candle, salve, unguent, elixir, philter, bread, fruit, meat or foodstuff, beans, seeds, crystals, etc., as decided between player and GM) and perform the foundation magicks and specific magicks desired to imbue that substance with the dweomers for later use, using the process described here. Objects enchanted to this Order are made solely by this method, by the practitioner’s Arts alone, in his workshop.

Examples of consumable enchanted substances would include a crayon invested with the magick to express a “Circle of Light” or “Pall of Shadow” or “Pool of Darkness”, or “Circle of Silence” or “-Protection”, “Wizard’s Ægis”, “Reign of Spring”, “-Summer”, “-Autumn” or “-Winter”, or some similar AoE-based dweomer when used to draw a circle on the ground, street or floor; a candle imbued with the “Pool of Light”, “Hail Fire”, “Rainstorm”, “Thunderstorm”, “Snowstorm”, “Ember Shower”, “Shower of Petals” or “Poppy Rain”, or “Sleep Lock” or similar magick to be released, or acts as a “Beguiling Sight”, or provides the effects of “True Sight” or “Wizard Sight” or “Conjure Shadows of the Past” within the AoE illuminated when it is lit; incense which manifests a “Cloud of Fog & Mist” or “Cloud of Dust”, “Cloud of Stench”, even a “Poison Cloud”, or sending forth a Summoning of some sort, the amount burned determines the POT used at any given time, while POT yet remains – a consumable in the same manner as the crayon or candle or any other.

Potions, philters, elixirs, salves, unguents, and such, or any foodstuffs so enchanted, should be used to manifest dweomers enhancing aspects of the body, such as “Tree-” or “Stone-” or “Dragon-” or “Armor Skin”, “Fleet Foot”, “Stag’s Leap”, “Spit Fire” or “Caustic Spittle”, “Speak in Tongues”, “Sharp Sense”, “Aspect of the Beast”, “Swift Heal”, “Untraceable Path”, and so on, or provide an ability like “Feather Fall”, “Fire-“ or “Frost Walk”, “Walk upon Waters”, “Charm of Sustenance”, “Second Sight”, “Soothsay”, “True Sight”, “Shadow Sight” or “Earth-“ or “Fire-“ or “Water-“, “Wizard Sight”, “Truthsay”, or the like. In the case of topical substances, the faculty to be affected is the area that should be anointed (ie., “Fleet Foot” or “Walk on Waters” should be applied to the feet, etc.).

The proper use and portioning and determination of effect (esp. regarding POT vs. STA of targets or recipients) is described in detail in the “Alchemist” description for the “Hedge-Wizard” and “Hearth-Witch” in the chapter in the trades of magick.

Alternately, the focus could be shifted to a physical item as a base, rather than a consumable – the caster might start with a cloak, hood, shirt, gown, stockings, or any other piece of apparel like a hat, gloves, boots, shoes, purse, walking stick, or piece of jewelry such as a ring, bracelet, pendant, earring(s), lapel pin, etc. A lantern might be invested with any of the same magicks as the candle above, or something like “Candle in the Window”, BUT not tied to the candle in it, simply requiring a candle be placed in it and lit in order for the magick to take effect. In the same vein, a censor or thurible could be invested with the magicks described for the incense above or something like “Enchant Air”, instead, requiring that any kind of incense to be placed in it and lit to release the magick, in the same fashion as the lantern, previously, or a brazier invested with “Enchant Fire” or “Feed the Flames” or “Caloric Charm” when fuel is lit within it, in the latter case, warming the area surrounding more thoroughly and completely than it would normally by dint of the fuel burned in it alone.

The bottom line is that an item might be imbued with any dweomer the creator desires, to do anything from enhancing the wearer’s or carrier’s running speed (“Fleet Foot”), swimming speed (“Wave Cutter”), or flying speed (“Swift Wing”), or any movement rate whatsoever the bearer might possess (“Swift Charm”), or allow him to survive without food and/or water (“Charm of Sustenance”), or grant him the effects of “Sure Foot” charm, “Walk Safe” or “Untraceable Path”, “Charm vs. Poison” (Venom, Pox, Beasts, Un-dead, Færies, etc.), or grant him “Sanctuary” (so long as he abides by the strictures accompanying it). On the other hand, the object may not be so pleasant or beneficial in nature, especially when introduced as an element of a storyline the GM has written. It may be designed to strike down one’s enemies or rivals, inflicting “Palsey”, “Agony”, “Nausea”, “Vertigo”, or any other Hex or “Body Wrack” on the one unfortunate enough to pick it up.

These are all by necessity created by the Art of Naming, as they are fixed to an object but have their effect on the faculties of living creatures.

In addition, a garment might be treated with a “Charm of Combustion” or “Incinerate” to immolate the poor soul who dons it; or be treated with a “Caustic Charm” backed-up with a “Touch of Poison”, very useful for getting rid of the competition or a long-standing foe; a blade or piercing weapon or tool might be invested with the property of a “Venom Charm” or a “Pox Charm”, or on a piece of serving-ware – a cup, chalice, plate, platter, dish, bowl, tureen, etc. which would affect every food substance, utensil or creature or being coming into contact with it, or provide any edge or point with a “Implacable Edge”, or a “Frost Brand” or “Flame Brand” charm, as mentioned previously, or a “Slick Charm”, “Charm of Adhesion”, “Charm of Momentum” or the like, all of which offer the practitioner the option of using Enchantment, as they affect the qualities of the object to which they are fixed. And these may be combined in whatever manner the practitioner desires within the enchanted item, even bundled to create unique results, so long as the foundation enchantment(s) is strong enough (sufficient in POT) to support it.

The “Walk Safe” and “Sure Foot” charms make a natural pair, and are almost indispensable in a bundle with “Fleet Foot” and “Untraceable Path”, and provide wonderful insurance for whatever mount the character rides when all are imbued in a set of horse harness (bit, bridle & reins) which can be moved from one mount to the next at need, or perhaps invested in a saddle instead, along with a binding (“Charm of Adherence”) to make sure the rider is able to keep his seat no matter how rough the ride. The caster might pair a great enhancement of BTY with “Blindness” in an item so the bearer never gets to see the effects, or pair the heightened BTY charm with a Gaze of “Petrifaction”, as was visited on Medusa of Greek myth.

The combinations of dweomers are innumerable, limited only by the imaginations of the PC’s and GM and the portfolios of magicks the characters have at their disposal.

The creation process for all of these begin with a Low Magick casting of the “Magick Charm” dweomer to call forth and open up the spirit essence or nature inherent in every object or substance of the Mortal World, its quintessence or animus, and thence thoroughly permeate it and prepare it to receive the magicks to be ingrained and bound into it. Immediately following the successful completion of that ritual, the creator must follow it up with the magick or magicks the object or substance is to manifest on use, those skills which are listed by name in his portfolio of magickal skills, each of which must also be cast as Low Magick.

The “Magick Charm” can only support a total number of points of POT in magick equal to its own POT when used in this capacity, as stated in its description (see “The Compendium”).

When this is done, although the magicks exist together in the object they are all effectively separate unless cast together as a bundle to create a specific effect that requires bundled magicks (explained as follows). They are in effect “partitioned” insofar as the POT with which a given magick is invested in the object may only be drawn on to manifest dweomers of that specific magick, although the wielder may use as much or as little of the POT for that purpose as desired in any given instance until it is gone.

The POT of the “Magick Charm” which supports the dweomers and binds them to the object lends its own POT to each of the magicks, in some cases this can effectively double (or more) the POT which may be drawn out of the object in the tapping of that magick. Once the POT of a given magick is exhausted by the wielder’s use, however, it disappears from the object completely. 4th Order objects cannot be restored, due to the fact that the foundational enchantments used to create them are cannibalized bit by bit as the magick is released from them.

IF the caster is planning a more complex magickal effect to manifest, such as can be achieved by the casting of a bundled magick (as previously described), for the bundled dweomer to express as the caster intended when he put it together, all of the constituent magicks must be cast into the object with equal POT, and the sum of their POT must fall within the limits of the “Magick Charm” supporting them (according to its POT).

When released from the object, all dweomers interlocking in the bundle are released at equal POT, so all are used together at the same rate to create the effect for which they have been so bundled.

At the creator’s option, the “Magick Charm” ritual may be followed by a “Power Cache” ritual (Low Magick in Form required, again) before the actual (named) magicks the item is to be able to manifest are cast. The “Power Cache” may be no greater in POT than the “Magick Charm” on which it rests. When this is done, the “Power Cache” forges all the magicks together, binding them so they share a single pool of POT. Once all the magicks are cast that the creator wants the option to release from the object, their POT is added together.

The “Power Cache” changes the capacity of the object to receive magicks from (“Magick Charm” POT in total POT of all magicks invested) to no more than (“Power Cache” POT) in number of (named) magicks invested and no greater than (“Power Cache” POT) each in POT.

Once forged together in a single pool in this manner, it no longer matters which magicks are used or not used. As much or as little of the total POT in the object may be drawn out to manifest any one of the magicks invested in the object, as desired. If the wielder has no occasion to use a given magick invested in the item before the POT is exhausted, so be it. No harm, no foul.

The POT of not only the actual magicks invested in the object (the named magicks which the creator intends the object to be able to manifest) is counted towards the pool of POT to be tapped in the use of the object, but the POT of the “Magick Charm” and the “Power Cache” dweomers themselves, as well.

The final point of POT released to manifest the final dweomer left within the object leaves no trace of power except the residue normally left in the wake of any expiring dweomer, as is normal for all 4th Order objects when they are exhausted.

Unless the object is prepared with a command word (or phrase, or physical action or specific gesture) of the creator’s devising at the time the enchantment(s) are laid, the resulting item may ONLY be used by a practitioner of one of the magickal trades.

Consumables with only a single enchantment upon them need no such command word or phrase, the act of consuming them (food or drink), applying them topically, drawing with a stick of crayon or charcoal, lighting them (in the case of magickal incense, candles, firewood, or the like) triggers the manifestation of the magick. The creator may lock the power of the magick behind such a word, however, to prevent any danger to mundanes should they fall into their hands. The great peril with those which are not so protected is the ignorance of mundane folk of the amount which should be consumed or applied on the body, how big a circle should be scribed (candles being simple enough, the wick needing only to be lit).

Only those trained in the Arts can feel the Power as it is unlocked and determine for themselves how much of the POT they use, which in turn determines for them the amount of the substance that is used, how large an area can be contained within the circle scribed, and in the case of foods and drink or topicals what the minimum dose to achieve a POT of 1 before more is added, and so on.

The “Magick Charm” creates a bond between the object or substance and the subsequent magick(s) invested in it which serves to preserve the object or substance in the physical state it was in when first enchanted. This lasts for [(total POT of ALL dweomers invested in the object/substance, including the “Magick Charm”) + (caster’s HRT)] years, after which the POT of the magick(s) supported by the Magick Charm drops by one (1), and losing one (1) point of POT every (caster’s HRT) years thereafter until the POT lying within it has been completely dissipated.

IF there are more than one magick being supported by the “Magick Charm”, the points of POT lost with the passage of time (as above) are subtracted one at a time from each magick in turn (including the “Magick Charm” and “Power Cache”, as applicable, but running through the individual magicks invested first), rather than wearing one magick down to zero and then the next, in turn.

The final point of POT released causes the “Magick Charm” itself to unravel and all magickal forces bound within the object to dissipate. At this point, all physical wear acquired over the intervening time then manifests on the object that had been preserved (as opposed to consumables, which are … well, consumed).

The player and GM should not forget that an object on which a dweomer was previously cast and expired provides the caster with a DV break for casting that same magick or magicks on it again, if he does so within the frame of time stated, as described under the heading “Casting DV’s, previously. This is obviously to the practitioner’s advantage if he wishes to use the same item to recreate a 4th Order enchanted item again. Obviously, this allowance cannot apply to “consumable” substances.

Fourth Order items and substances should be the MOST common magick to be found when magickal items are encountered at all in the worlds of RoM. However, while 4th Order items are described as the most common of items, the GM should be sure to understand that this does NOT mean that such items or substances should be common, by ANY means. The GM is by NO means encouraged to give the PC’s a sense that magick is at all easily accessible, much less available for mere coin by common commerce, 4th Order items – consumables especially, should actually be rather common in small numbers ONLY among those who practice the Arts, as 4th Order items are much easier and less demanding to make, and can be made by ANY magick-wielder with access to Low Magick of the Common Sphere.

In regards to game balance, potions and other consumables of that ilk are something of a compromise between the GM’s caution and the players’ ambition, much safer to bring into play and less likely to upset the balance of powers in the game because, once they are employed, they are gone – perhaps providing the PC’s with motivation to get out and go on further adventures. Fourth Order enchanted items also provide the practitioner with ready magick guaranteed to work for use in emergencies, when the vagaries of Fortune and the whims of Mana itself cannot foil his efforts, and the influences of the stars and planets need not be consulted, for they most likely already have been when the dweomers were first cast. Fourth Order objects and substances are generally created for the practitioner’s own convenience, however, as a ready and reliable back-up and insurance.

Magick is far too easy for mundanes to abuse, especially those driven by their ambitions and hungers, and the practitioners of magick know it well. They know it far too well to part with the products of their arts for mere coin, and in many cases they are loathe to make even short-term loans without demanding a high price (figuratively – read ‘great favor involving facing certain danger’) in return.

Objects of the 3rd Order

The 3rd Order is much rarer to stumble across than 4th Magnitude. The chief attribute shared by this class of items is that their foundation enchantments are immortal – they are designed to last until they are dismantled or otherwise disabled or dispelled. While their POT may be spent, their power never fades completely as 4th Order does. Even when spent, they register as bearing a dweomer to the spirit senses of one of the practitioners of magick. Their POT is renewable. Being the least of the types of enchanted items which are intended to endure, their renewal requires the manual restoration of POT once exhausted by the active effort and energy of the owner, who must be a practitioner of one of the magickal trades.

Those who take the time and energy to create items of the Third Order tend to guard them jealously, or gift them to others only VERY carefully, mindful of their capabilities and only bestow them where they are best deserved and usually only to accomplish specific goals (usually political/financial). They are generally only given out after the recipient has been known and observed for a long while (well within the bounds of the “previous personal experience” restriction) so they know what the recipient is most likely to do with it, what the impact on the wider world is likely to be once it is in their hands. A practitioner is always considered responsible for any harm wreaked in the wider world with an item of his work, regardless of its Order. The traditions of magick ingraine this sense of responsibility in every follower, and that responsibility is embodied in large part in the rules that surround its use in game terms (the power of the practitioner’s word, the restriction against frivolous use, etc.).

These items are created using the very same procedure described for 4th Order objects (previously), consisting solely of a series of castings of Low Magick (rituals) with the exception that, in order for the structure of the enchantment(s) laid on it to remain after the last point of POT of each magick invested is released, a small amount of life-force must be sacrificed.

The use of living energy binds the enchantments to the quintessence of the object irrevocably, providing the dweomer with a living link from Spirit to the Mortal Sphere. Mana transformed into an animus manifesting as a dweomer is a false and temporary one, although with sufficient power it can last a VERY long time, while that of a living creature, although limited in duration, belongs to the Mortal Sphere, and when combined with the animus or quintessence of magick creates a power which is well and truly bonded to the mortal world, which has a rightful place where it takes root and can live.

The life-force for the purposes of this discussion is embodied in terms of game mechanics in the attribute of CND. The sacrifice required to make a 3rd Order item must be made at the conclusion of the initial “Magick Charm” ritual for the POT of the item to be restorable after being drained, and it requires [1 point of CND per (HRT ÷ 4)] points of (“Magick Charm” POT).

In the sacrifice of life-force to sustain an enchantment so as to make it immortal, the life-force of either human(-oid)(-s), animals, or even plants is acceptable in creating 3rd Order items. The amount of life-force which can be derived from plant sources depends on their type and/or extent.

All of the following quotes assume that the plants being tapped for their life-force represent a mostly and generally unbroken carpet of greenery, if not, the effective square footage yielding the effective CND might be less than the actual area (GM’s discretion). This includes ALL types of herbage and grasses or other groundcover including mosses, herbs and “weeds”, young saplings, bushes, shrubs, brambles and the like.

An average growth of up to knee-high (human point of reference) yields one (1) point of effective CND per square yard of their area.

From knee-high to waist height (human point of reference) the plants yield 2 points of effective CND per square yard of their area.

From waist height up to roughly 6ft, the yield is 4 points of effective CND per square yard of their area.

From 6ft. up to roughly 10 to 12ft., the yield is 6 points of effective CND per square yard of their area.

Thick old plants like big dense shrubs are worth double their height in feet in POT each, and actual fully grown trees are worth their [(height in yards) x (diameter in feet)] points of POT, each.

These rates assume that the plants are still in situ, still rooted in the ground and living. If harvested, the area they originally covered must be known, and they must be used for this purpose within (practitioner’s MGA + trade SL) minutes of being cut or uprooted. Taking life-force from ‘annual’ plants, which must be reseeded to grow again each season, simply kills them outright, while doing so to a ‘perennial’ plant, evergreen, or tree strips it down to its winter hibernation state until the next spring calls the sap to rise again and coaxes it back to life.

When the sacrifice is made by a living creature or being, each of the points so sacrificed heals back in time in the same manner as wounds suffered in battle, each point counting as a single wound.

In the same manner explained for 4th Order objects, the POT of the “Magick Charm” ritual must be equal to or greater than the sum of the individual (named) magicks invested in the object. The same is true of the “Power Cache” ritual if it is included. In the same manner described for 4th Order objects, the (named) magicks invested in the object are effectively “partitioned” in regards to POT. The POT with which a single magick is invested in the object sets the maximum that can ever be released from the object by means of that (named) dweomer.

IF the sacrifice of life-force is made following both the “Magick Charm” and a “Power Cache” ritual, instead, the CND sacrificed must be sufficient to support the combined POT of those rituals. Here again, the POT becomes restorable but, in the same manner explained under the description of 4th Order objects, the POT of all the (named) magicks are thus forged into a common pool.

Unlike objects of the 4th Order, the POT of the “Magick Charm” in a 3rd Order item is never included in the POT that can be released by the wielder when manifesting the object’s power, and the same is true of the “Power Cache” ritual if it is included. The structure remains after the POT of the magicks is released so it can be refilled with POT and used again, hence the POT of the foundation enchantment(s) must remain unaffected for objects of the 3rd Order, where it is consumed in the expenditure of the POT in 4th Order objects.

Items of the 3rd Order (and those of higher Orders) are never “consumable” in nature, due to the simple fact that their POT is renewable while the actual substance of a consumable is not. However:

IF one of the enchantments laid on the consumable were one of “Regeneration” or “Restoration”, a consumable could be enchanted to a higher Order. At least a single morsel must be left behind to regenerate (effectively representing at least 1 point of POT), even just a bone of a piece of magickal meat, or the stone of a magickal fruit like a cherry or peach, otherwise the magick is considered broken, the time and expense put to naught. Unless the full nature of the object had been explained previously, one possessing such a mystical piece of food but not knowing it could very well throw the skin, stone or bone away for another to find later after some or even all of it had regenerated – again, not knowing what it did. The maker might well give such an item or items away without explaining their nature in order to follow along after to collect them again.

Restoring POT

Once the POT of an enchanted item has been exhausted, it is of no further use to the owner until that POT has been restored. Only a practitioner of one of the magickal trades can do this, and it must be the owner, the one to whom the item is Attuned. The POT may be restored in one of three ways.

First, if the owner-practitioner has a Touchstone or any other such object (such as a Master Work or Master’s Tools, or even another enchanted item also Attuned to him which still bears POT) that contains POT which may be tapped in the same manner, the owner/practitioner may touch the two objects together and channel the POT from the source into the depleted item.

IF the magicks are forged into a common pool (“Power Cache” included in the foundation enchantments), the pool may be filled with as much POT as is available to him all at once, up to a maximum equal to that which the pool held when it was newly made, equal to the sum of the POT of all the (named) magicks invested. This transfer of POT takes the same amount of time to effect as casting a cantrip of POT equal to the POT being infused in the enchanted item.

IF the magicks are “partitioned” (“Magick Charm” alone as foundation), this method must be used for each magick individually, each taking the same amount of time to effect, equal in time to casting a cantrip of POT equal to the POT infused in that magick, to a maximum equal to the POT with which it was originally invested in the object.

Second, if the owner is skilled in any (or all) of the dweomers invested in the object by its creator, he may cast it/them anew back into the object. Any form of magick, whether Low, Common, or High, is equally acceptable for use to this purpose, each casting taking the normal amount of time according to its form, as detailed under the heading “Casting Times”, previously.

IF the magicks are effectively “partitioned”, the practitioner is limited to casting them back in with no more than the full POT the item originally contained of that particular magick, in total if he uses more than one casting to achieve this. If the owner has no skill in one or more of the magicks originally invested in the object, he cannot restore POT to in this way, but must use one of the other two methods described here.

IF the magicks are forged together to share a pool of POT, the practitioner need only be familiar with one among the (named) magicks invested in the object in order to restore POT to the pool by casting it anew into the object. The practitioner may make as many castings of it as needed or desired to bring it up to the full amount of POT the object originally contained. That POT is then available to be drawn out again in the use of any and all (named) magicks invested in it, normally.

A given magick in an object bearing partitioned magicks and an object bearing a pool of POT can never accept more POT than it was originally invested with or created to hold, respectively.

When casting a magick native to an enchanted object back into it for the purposes of restoring its POT, the practitioner must always use ONLY the same Art originally used to invest that particular magick in the object in the first place (Glamourie, Enchantment, Sorcery, Naming, Divination, asapplicable), regardless of whether the magicks are partitioned or bound together to share a pool.

Thirdly, if the practitioner (owner) takes the time to settle down in a quiet atmosphere and meditative state, preferably alone, with the emptied enchanted object cradled in his hands in his lap (or the greater part of it, or some significant part of it, depending on its size, as is practical according to its nature, GM’s discretion), he may draw mana in and invest it back into the object at a rate of one (1) point of POT per [40 – (HRT)] minutes.

IF an object contains more than one magick and they are partitioned, the owner may recharge those magicks in this way in whatever order he likes and to whatever extent he likes, perhaps only a few points of POT for each, as time permits, BUT each magick can accept no more points of POT than was originally used to cast the magick when it was first invested in the object.

Objects of the 2nd Order

The 2nd Order is rarer by far to stumble across than even 3rd Order and especially the 4th. The chief attributes of these items are that their foundation enchantments are immortal AND that the POT with which they are created regenerates by itself over time after being drained by use, even to the last point.

Like those of the 3rd Order, those who take the time and energy to create items of the 2nd Order guard them jealously, even take pains to conceal the fact of their existence, or gift them to others only VERY carefully and revealing only limited information about them (if any at all), mindful of their capabilities, and only bestow them where they are best deserved and usually only to accomplish specific goals (usually political/financial). The circumstances under which such an object would be given away must be extremely special, as it has the capacity to have a kingdom-wide impact whose power is immortal.

These items are created using the very same procedure described for 3rd Order objects (above), consisting solely of a series of castings of Low Magick (rituals) with the exception that, in order for the structure of the enchantment(s) laid on it to remain after the last point of POT of each magick invested is released and also for the POT of the magicks to regenerate, some life-force must be sacrificed.

The life-force for the purposes of this discussion is embodied in terms of game mechanics in the attribute of CND. Unlike a 3rd Order item, the sacrifice of life-force to make a 2nd Order item must be made at the conclusion of the successful casting of the last (named) magick to be invested in the item, following the “Magick Charm” ritual (and the “Power Cache” ritual, if applicable), for the POT of the item to regenerate and refill after being exhausted, and it requires [1 point of CND per (HRT ÷ 4)] points of the total of [(“Magick Charm” POT) + (sum of named magicks’ POT)] invested in (plus POT of the “Power Cache” ritual if it is included as a part of the foundation, as well).

In the sacrifice of life-force to sustain an enchantment so as to make it immortal, only the life-force of human(-oid)(-s) or animals is acceptable in creating items of the 2nd Order. Each of the points so sacrificed heals back in time in the same manner as wounds suffered in battle, each point counting as a single wound.

In the same manner explained for 3rd Order objects, the POT of the “Magick Charm” ritual must be equal to or greater than the sum of the individual (named) magicks invested in the object, and the same is true of the “Power Cache” ritual if it is included. In the same manner described for 3rd Order objects, the (named) magicks invested in the object are effectively “partitioned” in regards to POT. The POT with which a single magick is invested in the object is the maximum at which it can ever be released from the object in the form of that particular dweomer.

Regeneration of POT

The rate at which a 2nd Order object recovers the points of POT used from it is equal to the [(number of points of CND sacrificed in its making) + (HRT att. mod. of the creator)] every day (sunrise to sunrise except for Druids and Witches, for whom it is counted from sunset to sunset). This should be prorated to determine the per-point rate of recovery per hour when the item is allowed to rest, so it can be easily determined how much has been regenerated if the wielder should have to pick the item up again and use it before it has had a chance to replenish itself completely.

If the magicks are partitioned, the points return one at a time to those magicks that have been used, each in turn, starting with the magick whose POT stands at the lowest amount, and then to the others in descending order of need. If more than one are at zero, the GM can flip a coin or roll a die to see what order they receive their points back, OR in the order in which they were invested in the object (if that list is available).

For example, if an item has been invested with “Aspect of the Beast” 15 POT; “Slick Charm” 10 POT; “Shackle Charm” 12 POT; “Beguiling Sight” 8 POT (effectively partitioned and invested in that order); and they are reduced through use to 0 POT, 8 POT, 0 POT, and 7 POT, respectively, as the points return they would go, one point at a time, to “Aspect”, “Shackle”, “Beguiling” and then “Slick”, in turn.

If the practitioner-owner wishes, should the rate of recovery of POT of the item, as set forth above, not be swift enough to suit him at any time, it may be recharged by him from external sources using any of the methods described for use on Grade II items, previously, and with the same limitations.

Objects of the 1st Order

The 1st Order is the most rare to discover because they require the greatest sacrifice to make. The chief attributes of these items is that they are hard-wired into the Spirit Spheres as both vessels and conduits of mana or Spirit, and as such have unlimited power in regards to the number of times or the frequency with which they can manifest the magicks invested in them, indeed at the creator’s discretion, magicks can be invested to continuously manifest so as to change an object’s physical characteristics with an effectively immortal enchantment. This is the manner of enchantment used for creating most magickal weapons and armor or shields.

Like those of the 2nd Order, those who take the time and energy to create items of the 1st Order guard them jealously to the point of taking pains to conceal the fact of their existence. This is commonly due to the fact that, in use, they are the most potent of the enchanted items that can be made, due to the fact that the magicks within them are inexhaustible. Putting such magick at the disposal of another is a very risky, even dangerous, thing to do. And they are responsible for the consequences.

In the same manner described for the previous Orders, using the “Magick Charm” alone as the foundation leaves the (named) magicks invested effectively “partitioned”, while the inclusion of the “Power Cache” forges the POT of all the (named) magicks invested, binding them together in such a way that all draw equally on the same pool of combined POT.

To achieve the advantages of this Order, the completion of successfully investing the foundation magick(s) and all the desired (named) magicks in the item must be concluded with a sacrifice of life-force in the form of points of CND, in the same manner as 2nd Order objects. The amount required is the same as that required for a 2nd Order item. UNLIKE that given up in making a 2nd or 3rd Order item, however, the points of CND sacrificed in making an item of the 1st Order is NOT recoverable. They can NOT be recovered in time by healing. This is due to the great difference in the way the immortal enchantments are supported by it – completely and without reservation, hard-wiring it into Spirit and forging a living enchantment.

The permanence with which the life-force is invested changes the basic nature in which the magicks in the item can act, if the creator so desires. Certain magicks which are intended to change the quality of one or more of the attributes of the enchanted object itself, such as is achieved with “Implacable Edge” for blades, “True Strike”, and “Never Wear” or “-Break” for weapons, “Armor Enchantment”, “Shock Absorber”, “Never Wear” or “-Break” and “Strike Warding” in regards to armor, “Fleet Foot”, “Sure Foot”, “Walk Safe”, or dweomers of that ilk (GM’s discretion) can all be made to manifest as attributes which are always in force or effect, so long as the item is worn or carried by the owner.

By this description, nearly all enchanted weapons and armor commonly encountered in the great majority of medieval fantasy roleplaying games fall within the 1st Order of Magnitude.

When the GM is bringing enchanted items into play, those whose dweomers are presumed always to be active, ever-present and ever-ready regardless of the timing or the purpose of taking them in hand, or the length of time for which they are used or wielded, fall within the 1st Order.

Items of this nature can be used by whomever picks them up, unless they are Warded by the creator to limit who may pick them up and gain the use or benefit of them, in whatever manner he chooses (and for whatever reasons).

These items do NOT have to be Attuned unless bound by a “True Ownership” dweomer (which might be included in the immortal enchantments in the object), in which case the object’s magick are always withheld until ownership is established by Attunement.

Most true “Amulets” which provide protection of one sort or another (Enemies, Beasts, Spirits, etc.), or bestowing an aura of good fortune or enhanced skill, or ill-luck of some sort, are constantly “on”, lending their good graces to the wearer so long as they remain on their persons, and thus, belong to the 1st Order. In the same manner, but not quite so friendly or helpful, an item which purports to be an Amulet might contain a “Stumble” or “Fumble” Hex, or a sensory impairment or some similar Hex on an object, like that of the Greek king Midas, turning everything he touches (or which touches him) into gold, instead. An object might only be imbued with a “Power Cache”, “Dweomer Cache”, or “Spirit Cache”, or some type of “Spirit Prison”, to ensure that the Cache or Prison so created endures permanently to be used over and over as desired, and so might be handed down to one’s heirs, or allowed to linger after death to continue to bedevil the living, or maintain its hold on its prisoner(s) until some foolish mortal comes along with the knowledge and skills to set them free.

At the GM’s option (or the PC creating enchanted items of his own), the presumption of ever-present and ever-ready magick need not necessarily be true. Items of this Order can just as easily be made to function according to the same standard as those of the 3rd or 2nd Orders. In this way, the object’s magicks wait to be released by the will of the wearer, only at need and to the POT desired (up to that of which it is capable, like any other enchanted item of the 3rd or 2nd Orders), to affect the specific target or subject designated. Due to being supported by unlimited resources, these objects may be tapped only as often as is needful or desired, instead, whenever needed or desired.

This applies specifically to magicks which normally would provide a dweomer with only a single, limited effect, especially those used as weapons in battle, but which are imbued permanently in an object so that it becomes a permanent attribute of it, such as a glove of “Hammer Fist” dweomers, a wand or rod of “Lightning Bolts”, a “Lightning Call” cap, a bow, gauntlet, cloak or mantle of “Shaft of Wind”, a crossbow of “Star Darts”, “Flame Darts”, “Ice Darts”, a sling of “Molten Darts”, and the like.

This applies also in the creation of a magickal dish which is imbued with a Conjuration so that every time its lid is placed on it and removed again, some steaming delectable meal is revealed, the wielder’s favorite or what he happens to be in the mood for, or the little brazen pot that Conjures breakfast porridge when covered, or the cup which conjures wine to fill it every time it is picked up – although it might just as commonly be covered like the dish in the period of the game, especially in the case of a large ornate chalice, and the wine to appear when the cover is removed. Attunement would be required to use such items normally, as they 1st Order, but the physical act such as placing the lid and uncovering it may be stipulated as the only requirement to triggering a dweomer in the same manner as setting a command word, or it may be omitted, OR the maker may provide the item with a command word and a physical action so it may be used by whomsoever holds the knowledge of that command and procedure – although they must be physically touching the object when the word is spoken (unless they are the object’s “True Owner”, in accordance with that dweomer’s description).

The GM or the PC creator must determine the purpose of the magick when investing it in the enchanted item. Is the magick being invested to in such a way as A) to make the magicks manifest as intrinsic and permanent manifest properties of the object (“Never Break”), or B) to manifest a change in the nature of the item in which it is invested only when invoked/released (a sword that becomes a “Fire-” or “Frost Brand” or takes on a “Lightning Hand” effect on command), or is its purpose to C) dispense that power when invoked or released to be directed towards outside targets or recipients as desired? (“Touch of Wounding”, “Shaft of Wind” or “-Fire”, “Chinook” or “Scirocco”, “Lightning Call”, or the like).

Objects to which conditions B) and C) apply should ordinarily require Attunement for use. Of course, the creator can always include a command word or phrase, with or without a somatic act or accompanying physical action or gesture, to allow mundane folk who are privy to that knowledge to tap the power of an enchanted object, or some of such an object’s powers. This is entirely at the discretion of the creator.

While it is an unusual concept to entertain, and not often done, it is possible to imbue a 1st Order enchantment in a consumable substance, ie., a crayon stick which scribes “Circle of Protection” dweomers but, the charm being Immortal, would effectively never wear down, renewed even while it is being used. Such an item could only be used by one with the talent to claim it and Attune it, of course, as the agent(s) or force against which the Circle is to Protect the inhabitants must be named as the circle is scribed (unless specified by the maker in the first place), and the POT measured out to provide suitable protection for the area so enclosed. The same sort of thing may be done with any of the consumable substances described under 4th Order enchanted items. One of the reasons why this sort of thing ordinarily is not done when making items of the 1st Order is that their magickal nature soon becomes very clear to those who spend any amount of time around the owner if he gets any sort of regular use out of it.

The limits of POT in the tapping of the magicks invested in an enchanted item of the 1st Order are somewhat different from those of the 4th, 3rd and 2nd Orders, due to the special nature created by the permanent sacrifice of CND. In those in which the (named) magicks are effectively “partitioned” (“Magick Charm” as foundation, alone), each magick may be drawn out of or released from the object with the same POT at which it was originally invested, but tapped as many times in succession as desired.

For those within which the (named) magicks have been forged together so as to create a common pool of POT (“Magick Charm” and “Power Cache” as foundation, with a commensurately greater cost), each magick invested may be drawn out or released with up to the full total POT in the pool at that moment and, again, may be tapped as many times in succession as desired.

The player and GM are reminded that the relative “weight” of Noble Sphere magicks is 5 times that of Common Sphere Magicks, and that of Sovereign Sphere magicks have double the “weight” of Noble Sphere magicks, or 10 times the “weight” of Common Sphere magicks, and this applies specifically to the capacities in POT of “Magick Charm”, “Power Cache” and “Warding” dweomers cast within the Common Sphere.

While it is perfectly acceptable to mix and match magicks of the different Spheres of Power in a single enchanted item, the Common Sphere foundation magicks are all-too-quickly pushed to their limits if they are used to support (named) magicks of the greater Spheres of Power.

IF a practitioner wishes to include magicks of the greater Spheres of Power he is far better off laying the foundations using the lore of the higher Spheres. This is why the Common Sphere edition of each of the foundation magicks leads to discovery of a greater formula tapping the stronger and more subtle knowledge, a (limited) bridge to the lore of the Noble Sphere of Power, and why the practitioner is again provided with the ability to discover an even greater formula tapping the strongest and most subtle knowledge, a (limited) bridge to the lore of the Sovereign Sphere of Power from the Noble Sphere edition.

Each of these magicks is provided with alternate uses besides constructing enchanted items – “Magick Charm” for awakening the latent magick in those things which carry it, “Power Cache” for storing mana in general and creating Touchstones in particular, and “Wardings” for more short-term protections – to ensure alternate means of progression in SL with them, to make them more practical to pursue as skills in their own rights. Indeed, a number of the magicks in the game embody magickal mechanisms or principles which can run the gamut from simply innocuous to the incredibly dangerous depending on how far the concept is pushed towards its ultimate logical conclusion, and so have been divided between the Spheres and equipped with bridges to allow the character to push his understanding into the higher Spheres of Power, over time.

ANY of the objects discussed here may be tuned by their creators to function only under certain conditions, perhaps only in the hands of an elf, or in the hands of one who shares the blood of the House of Plantagenet, or only for a Tinker, Tailor, Soldier (Warrior) or Spy – or any other particular trade, only for a virgin, or a virgin girl, only for a woman, or one who has been a mother, only for the followers of the Light, or of the Darkness, only those who actually Walk in the Light or the Darkness (as defined in “Virtue & Vice in Play”), OR they may be tuned to work for all except those barred by the caster. Such restrictions may or may not be reinforced with wardings designed to inflict unpleasant punishments on those who have been excluded from the objects’ uses. Such magicks are generally the last to be wound about an item, although when there is more than one layer or Order of enchantments on an item, the warding(s) may be attached only to the magicks of a particular layer or Order, or keyed only to the use of certain specific magicks to ensure those particular magicks get used only as the creator intended.

Each such level of criteria stipulated in who or what is to be allowed its use or screened out or protected against raises the casting DV in a Progressive manner. For this purpose, each level of criteria, moving from specific to general (as shown in the examples) counts as another for the purposes of determining the DV bonus to cast, as discussed under the heading “Casting DV’s”.

In the same manner that every dweomer a practitioner of magick casts shares his personal, spiritual vibration, every object he enchants is Attuned to him and only accepts him as master. Should a practitioner get ahold of an enchanted item created by another, he must Attune it before he can wield it himself, and no doubt spend a bit of time with a “Read” (magick) dweomer going over its enchantments to figure out what it can do before he decides to try to tap its power and actually release any of it. Of course, he can go through, while “Reading” the dweomer (so he can “see” each of the (named) magicks in it and release them one by one to see if he can determine what each of them is according to the effect it manifests. That could be more than a little dicey, however.

In the sacrifice of life-force to sustain an enchantment so as to make it immortal, only that belonging to human(-oid)(-s) is acceptable in creating items of the 1st Order. The life-force (CND) sacrificed in making items of the 3rd, 2nd and 1st Orders may be either the caster’s own or that of either a willing thrall or defenseless proxy. 

Third party “donors” can only resist (by means of M-RES) the loss of life-force in these circumstances if they have their faculties about them, the normal effect of drugs and will-compromising dweomers hindering the victims’ HRT and M-RES as appropriate. Ramifications to the caster’s Vice score should be considered, as stealing life-force in this manner should result in a rise in Vice corresponding to the number of points of CND stolen. Naturally, this penalty is not incurred if the donor(s) is truly are willing (not coerced in any way, mundane or magickal). 

While CND that is sacrificed in the making of a 1st Order enchanted item may not be restored to the donor by the use of magick, any object in which his CND is stored which is then kept on the donor’s person fills the void and restores the deficit, but only for so long as it remains with them. This takes the sting from the cost to the practitioner, but makes the practitioner’s health vulnerable should the weakness be discovered and the item taken away from him.

This accounts for their relative rarity of 1st Order items among those of good character, and the postponement of such works until the latter part of the practitioners’ careers. As mentioned, the CND sacrificed does not heal back. This could cripple the practitioner or pierce him irrevocably on the horns of a serious moral dilemma.

A Master’s Tool(s) as an Enchanted Item

When a Master’s Tool(s) is used as the base object to be enchanted, the energy (POT) latent in the Tool(s) is added to the effective POT of any and all dweomers laid on it, only on the condition that the magick(s) have a direct bearing upon the use of the tool in the craft it serves or the materials which it is commonly used to work, or skill in the craft itself in some more general way (GM’s discretion). So long as the (named) magicks invested fall within this restriction on purpose or function, the POT added applies to the foundation charms cast also.

IF one or more of the (named) magicks do NOT fall within the restriction as to purpose or function, the additional POT can only be applied to those that do, and it is NOT applied to the foundation charm(s).

The chief benefit of this is that the increased POT does NOT affect the DV with which the dweomers are cast upon it.

Examples of uses that fall within the restriction above include a charm increasing the rate of speed applied to any tool affects the purpose of the tool directly, or decreasing the speed (same principle, just reversing the polarity), or increasing the impact of some tool used for bludgeoning with a “Foe Hammer” charm (a smith’s or carpenter’s hammer). These charms affect the use of the tool directly. A charm to increase the sharpness of a boring (awl) or cutting (any knife) or shaving (plane) tool, the same. Laying a compulsion to dance (“Færie Reel”) on a pair of a Master’s dancing shoes ties directly into the spirit and purpose of the item, allowing the POT within it to be tapped. The same would also apply to a compulsion to play laid on a Master’s fiddle, or any other instrument for that matter. This principle should also extend to giving any Master’s instrument the quality of a “Beguiling” dweomer, like the pipes of the “Pied Piper of Hamlin”, which similarly taps into the purpose and use of the tool, allowing it’s inherent POT to be accessed. This magick is considered completely in line with the purpose of the trade (distraction or entertainment) and the use of the tool.

This should give the GM a good idea of the scope of the types and applications of magicks to Master’s Tool(s) which the practitioner should be required to use in order to tap into the power (POT) they have developed naturally, over time. In short, the magicks chosen to enchant such objects must be chosen for the ability to enhance and embellish the Tool’s original use or purpose.

Augmenting & Altering Enchanted Items

Once an object is enchanted, it becomes a tool of the trade for the practitioner, its form is given, the nature of the magickal resource it provides fully defined. It is possible that, in time, the creator may grow dissatisfied with the item as it stands. It may be that the object has been passed down from master to protégé over the generations until one of them has conceived of certain ways in which the tool might be improved, perhaps made more versatile.

Perhaps the object would be more helpful or useful if it were improved to a higher Order – or two, or three.

Perhaps the creator or current owner or wielder wishes to add one or more new (named) magicks to it, or even remove one or more of the (named) magicks invested in it.

Perhaps the object lacks proper protections and could stand to have a series of conditional “Wardings” woven in to protect the magicks invested, or even a “Bane” to ensure it is used properly, maybe with a “Warding” to protect it.

Any of these changes is possible, but they are not exactly easily made.

The “Magick Charm” is both the foundation bonding the enchantments to the physical object in which they are invested and the mortar that holds the enchantments themselves together, immortal or otherwise. It is also the key to reopening the enchantments in an item and making them malleable to the owner’s will and his Arts in getting the dweomers already in the object to accommodate his efforts at changing them.

Augmenting or diminishing or otherwise changing an enchanted item starts in the same manner as the original process of enchantment itself – with the “Magick Charm”, cast as Low Magick, only.

Once the “Magick Charm” is cast, the practitioner must make a [(trade SL) + (HRT att. mod.) + (“Magick Charm” POT)] d100 check vs. (POT of the “Magick Charm” used as the original and current foundation of the item), PLUS any life-force (points of CND) sacrificed in its making.

Success allows the owner/practitioner to proceed with the changes he wishes to make.

Failure requires him to start over again with a new casting of the “Magick Charm”.

IF the “Magick Charm”, the foundation of the item itself, is what the practitioner wants to change, he must cast the new one which is to open the object for him magickally with the POT he wishes it to have, which must always be greater than it had to start, and another d100 check as described above completed successfully grants the change in power to the “Magick Charm”, as desired.

When the purpose of the practitioner’s efforts are to reduce an object’s power, he must start with the (named) magicks invested first, then any “Power Cache(s)” (as applicable), then the “Magick Charm”. If the foundation is made incompetent to support the dweomers laid on top of it, it all comes crumbling down. The sum of the remaining POT of all magicks in the item is taken as the number by which a roll to cast a magick was failed, and a Bumble determined as a result. Due to the amount of POT generally contained in such items, this Bumble is likely to be rather catastrophic in nature.

The same principle, and consequences, apply to the weakening of a “Power Cache” so that it cannot contain or support the (Named) magicks invested in it, as it is of the nature of a foundation magick, as well, notwithstanding its being secondary in that role.

Augmenting an item usually starts from the first layer of the foundation (“Magick Charm”) and moves up (“Power Cache”, as applicable, then named-magicks), however, because most attempts to alter an object seek to increase the object’s power.

IF the practitioner has in his hands a simple item with “partitioned” magicks embedded in a “Magick Charm” and wishes to enhance it by adding a “Power Cache” and forging the (named) magicks already in it so as to create a common pool of POT, the “Magick Charm” must be successfully cast and accessed as described, then the “Power Cache” must be successfully cast and another d100 check made vs. the greatest of the POT among the (named) magicks already present and a Progressive modifier added based on their number. Obviously, the POT of the “Power Cache” must be sufficient to support the (named) magicks in both number and POT.

IF the practitioner casts the “Power Cache” of a greater POT than is needed to support the existing (named) magicks already embedded, he is then free to begin casting such new (named) magicks to invest as the remaining POT allows.

IF the object has a “Power Cache” as a part of the foundation and the practitioner wishes to either augment or diminish the POT of the “Power Cache” itself OR add one or more (named) magicks to it OR eliminate one or more of them, the “Power Cache” POT is substituted for the “Magick Charm” as the DV in the d100 check called for above, plus any life-force (points of CND) in the item (also as above).

Success in this instance allows the practitioner to then begin casting the new “Power Cache” dweomer with the changed POT.

Failure requires the practitioner to start all over again.

IF magicks are to be added, the foundation (“Magick Charm” and “Power Cache”, as applicable) must have the POT to support it/them OR it must be cast anew with the increased POT needed before the additional magicks are invested.

IF some are to be eliminated and some added, those that are to be eliminated must be handled first.

In order to eliminate a (named) magick invested in an item, it must be dispelled. Since the object is already Attuned to the practitioner, this may be done with the speed of a cantrip without need of a d100 check of any kind provided the (named) magick to be eliminated lies within the portfolio of the practitioner’s own skills, in the same Art in which it exists in the object.

IF this is not the case, the practitioner must actually go through the process to “Dispel” the target magicks according to the procedure explained previously in “Magick in Play”.

Magicks to be added to an item must be cast as Low Magick in the same manner as those which were originally invested, and their POT is counted normally against the load the foundation magick(s) can support. If a “Power Cache” is included, any new (named) magicks added to the pool of POT will be bound by the “Cache’s” limitations (no more that POT in number, no more than “Cache” POT in POT themselves).

A “Bane” or “Warding” might be imbedded in the pool of POT of a “Power Cache” foundation item in this way, where there was none before.

Alternately, the “Magick Charm” foundation may be augmented with sufficient POT so that a “Bane” or “Warding” may be imbedded in it, above and beyond what any “Power Cache” it may support might need, so it would stand alongside the pool of POT.

In the same vein, should the practitioner wish to add additional (named) magicks, but not to deal with the difficulty of tapping into and augmenting the existing “Power Cache” (as applicable), the “Magick Charm” underlying may be augmented (as described previously) to a degree that its POT can support another “Power Cache” which can then be used to invest a whole new group of (named) magicks (within the same parameters previously cited).

IF the practitioner wishes to single out any (named) magicks to be “Warded” during the augmentation process (having been overlooked in the original creation process), the same d100 check to unlock the “Power Cache” described above is required, another check if the “Power cache” had to be augmented first to support the “Warding”. None of the (named) magicks invested in the “Warding” for its use in guarding against unauthorized use of the (named) magicks so protected are counted against the capacity of the “Power Cache” but are bound in number and individual POT only by the constraints of the “Warding’s” POT.

IF the (named) magicks to be guarded by a “Warding” are members of two (or more) different pools of POT in the item, the burden of the “Warding’s” POT is divided equally between all the pools it touches.

In choosing to augment an item, the practitioner may well find that he has exceeded the POT in magicks any life-force (CND) sacrificed for its support previously. In this case, it must be supplemented with additional points of CND to maintain the standing of the object in regards to its Order. This is up to the practitioner’s discretion to provide for, and must be planned for in advance, lest the practitioner find himself in the middle of the work with no one to provide it except himself.

Further, when any and all changes have been made and the practitioner decides he wishes to change the Order of the object by an additional sacrifice of life-force, even to making the ultimate sacrifice of a 1st Order item, he must follow the procedure set forth in the description of the Order to which he wishes to change the item.

When the practitioner has access to the foundation enchantments of more than one Sphere of Power, they are wrapped about the object in successive layers, laid on like the layers of an onion. The magicks supported by the Common Sphere foundation magicks and those magicks which they support lie quietly under the mantle of the Noble Sphere “Magick Charm” as it is laid on and whatever magicks the practitioner wishes to lay down on top of it. Doing so involves no “augmentation” process as described above. The difference in Sphere of Power makes all the difference. The same is true when the practitioner is able to access the Sovereign Sphere “Magick Charm”, under which the Noble Sphere foundation and enchantments all lie quietly. In this way it is possible to have an object enchanted over and over again with more and more powerful magicks. Indeed, the three layers of enchantments might each belong to a different Order, according to the manner in which they were finished.

“Wardings” can be wrapped around enchantments of the same Sphere of Power, also requiring a “Magick” Charm” as a foundation, but in the manner of a mantle or cloak, as general protections, rather than specific ones imbedded in a pool or attached to particular magicks, as described previously. “Wardings” have their Common Sphere, Noble Sphere, and Sovereign Sphere editions arrived at from within the practice of the Common Sphere skill, just like the “Magick Charm” and “Power Cache”, and may be applied over one another in the same manner, in layers by Sphere of Power, as well.

The only wrinkle that has not been discussed here is the fact that an enchanted item may also be fashioned to the standards of a Talisman, and by the nature of the enchantments invested in it, may also function as an Amulet.

Talismans are embodiments of the principles of the doctrine of Correspondences explained at such great length in the beginning of the chapter. They are constructed of materials, woods, metals, colors, all very carefully and deliberately chosen for the Correspondences they have to zodiacal forces , and their making is assayed during the reigns of certain starsigns and planets to which the Correspondences of the materials of which they are made coincide, and assembled and finished during the hours of the day which also coincide in Correspondence. All of this careful planning comes to fruition when a “Magick Charm” is cast upon it to awaken its latent energy, so as to provide a measurable advantage when casting those magicks with which it aligned (by starsign, ruling planet, House, hour of day, etc.). The value of the Talisman is determined by the number of Correspondences it contains, as detailed towards the end of the passages on Correspondences, previously, and its benefits can be applied in a number of ways to the mechanics of casting and its resolution, also detailed at the end of those passages. One of the great uses for them is to reduce the casting DV’s for certain magicks, another is to augment the POT of a magick when it manifests, without any sort of penalty to DV.

An Amulet, simply enough is either a good luck charm or a form of magickal protection usually worn on a chain or thong around the neck, but which may just as easily take the form of a pin or bauble for a hat or the lapel or cloak or mantle or carried on one’s belt or in one’s purse. It need not be displayed for its power to be manifest. Its power may come from something contained within it (trapped between pieces of crystal or in a vial or locket which carries the power in it latent which has been awakened by a “Magick Charm” or the amulet might have been created as an enchanted item, in accordance with the procedures described in the previous passages.

Enchanted items can be as simple or as complex as the GM desires, or as complex as the PC’s in his game desire, who gain the power to make them.

The sky is the limit!

Use of Enchanted Items in Play

The PC practitioner finally has an enchanted item in his hands, either having created it himself or having finally discovered one, by the grace of the GM. Now, what does it do? How is it used? Assuming the PC has attuned the item successfully and also sat down and meditated over it with the aid of a “Read” (magick) dweomer and finally discovered its capabilities, how is it implemented in play?

In basic terms, the magicks invested in an enchanted item may be released with the same speed and frequency as High Magick (cantrips), until such time as its POT is exhausted.

These dweomers it can manifest are determined by the “(named) magicks” originally cast into it on its creation (or augmentation). The phrase “(named) magicks” is used to differentiate those dweomers it is capable of manifesting from the standard foundation magicks – the “Magick Charm” the “Power Cache” and “Warding”. The “(named) magicks” are those which appear on the rosters in The Compendium of this book, and also those which are named in the text of many of the named skills which, when based on broader concepts of principles, are broken down into a number of specific applications, all included when that skill is learned.

Since the magick being released from an enchanted item has already been successfully cast, no d100 check is needed for the wielder to release it.

Those dweomers whose effects depend on HRT, SPT, CHM or any other of the caster’s spiritual attribute(s) to determine or govern their effect have the benefit of the wielder’s own score OR that of the original caster/creator of the object, whichever is greater.

Otherwise, the dweomer being created by use of the object is counted as the wielder’s own, its actual application completely up to the wielder in the same manner as any dweomer newly cast by his own hand. This extends to include even the ability to tie-off the DUR or maintain it at his pleasure, and to dismiss it at his leisure, as desired.

IF the object is one which regenerates its own POT (2nd Order), the energy that is held in reserve to support a dweomer which is NOT tied-off may be assigned to the object’s power pool, so that one (1) point of POT in the pool remains tied up to support the dweomer as desired, unable to be recovered or used for any other purpose until released (dweomer dismissed). This may be preferable if the wielder is already supporting the DUR of a number of dweomers at his pleasure, especially if the enchanted object has a generous pool of POT. This might not be feasible, however, if the object’s pool of POT is relatively small and the wielder wishes to get maximum use out of it.

In the same vein, if the wielder has skill with the very same magick, in the same Art by which it was invested in the object, he may use the enchanted item to augment his own casting by releasing the dweomer from the item as he releases the casting of his own, in the same manner as a Touchstone is used, to increase the POT of the magick without having to suffer any penalty to higher casting DV, as he would normally for casting with greater POT.

In the event that the creator has keyed an object he has created to (a) command word(s) for the use of mundane folk, the POT and scores used to determine the effects of the dweomers released all are supplied by the original caster/creator and the manner in which he cast into the object originally. The ‘mundane’ having an item in hand keyed to a command and/or gesture can exercise NO control over the magick’s manifestation except in a general sense (who it is to affect or strike, the center of any AoE, etc.), and all DUR is automatically tied off to run in accordance with the POT and Sphere of the magick, again as originally cast.

IF the practitioner has altered or augmented the object bearing such restrictions such as a command word or phrase and/or a physical gesture, these things can be altered or erased at his pleasure during the process, assuming he is successful.

If the wielder does not know one or more of the magicks in the item, that is only a temporary bar to using them (although he has much less control, and must rely on the original creator’s skill in determining the possibilities in effect until the wielder learns its full potential). In this case, the wielder may use the object to study by means of a “Read” (magick) dweomer until he learns the nature purpose and structure of the dweomer well enough to practice it, as if he were studying reference books and texts in learning a new magick, the magick studied being the same as having a treatise containing the description or formula for a new magick. The character is still bound by the limitations prohibiting the learning of magicks of a Sphere of Power beyond that which his trade SL allows him to comprehend and pursue, however.

Magicks resulting from the use of command words by “mundane” users always manifest at the same POT at which they were cast into the bundle contained in the object. ONLY those who have the knowledge, skill and ability by trade can vary the POT drawn out when manifesting a given dweomer as desired, and then only after they have attuned it and claimed it for their own.

Obviously, if the wielder is a practitioner he can wring much better use out of the POT in the object, and can always hand it off for use by a mundane compatriot if it is useful as a mundane object in itself (such as a sword or other weapon) after the magick is exhausted – until it regenerates (as applicable).

Examples of Enchanted Items

Because the possibilities in magick items are absolutely endless, and the standards to which an item can be enchanted can vary so between the four Grades and the use of singular, multiple or bundled dweomers, no attempt has been made here to quantify or supply any sort of catalogue of such items, although in the following text a number of ideas are presented by way of providing examples of what can be achieved.

It is interesting to note that the gods themselves had to go to one of their own or some other race who served them to create the wondrous and magickal items associated with them and their powers. Every culture seems to have had a race of master smiths or a god of smithcraft who made objects whose power rivaled ort complimented that of the gods themselves. The Norse had the svart alfar, the Germanic tribes had Wayland the Smith, the Greeks and Romans had Hephaestus or Vulcan, to the insular Brythonic Celts (in Britain) he is Gofannon, but for the continental Brythonic Celts he is Gobanos, and by the Goidelic Celts he is called Goibniu, and every last one of them wrought wondrous items both to delight, like Freyja’s Necklace of Brisingamen, or to be feared, a plethora of weapons that would mow men down by the score in battle. Indeed, some of the most common types of items which bear magickal properties are weapons and armor, a spear, or magick helmet or shield. Traditionally, they are usually the gift from some patron spirit (færie) or even a god (especially in the Greek myths).

The Helm of Hades made the wearer invisible; the Tarnhelm of the Ring of the Nibelung by Wagner allowed the wearer to become invisible or to change his shape; the hammer (or axe or club) Mjölnir wielded by the Norse thunder god Thor was itself invulnerable, with it Thor might strike as firmly as he wanted, whatever his aim, and the hammer would never fail, it would never miss when thrown and never fly so far from his hand that it could not find its way back, and it would be so small that it could be carried inside his tunic if Thor should so desire; the sword Gram (old Norse “wrath”) killed the dragon Fafnir and could cleave an anvil in half; Gungnir (Old Norse “swaying one”) is his magickal spear. Unerring, it always hits its mark and always kills; the magick sword of the Norse god Freyr was a dancing sword, insofar as it was animate, could wield itself and fight on its own; the sword of the legendary Danish king Hrólf Kraki was called Skofnung and was renowned for supernatural sharpness and hardness, and was imbued with the spirits of the king’s 12 faithful berserker bodyguards, as well. Wounds made by Skofnung would not heal unless rubbed with the magickal Skofnung Stone; the sword Dyrnwyn (“White-Hilt”), one of the 13 (magickal) Treasures of the Isle of Britain, was a powerful sword from the Welsh Triads whose entire blade would blaze with fire when drawn by a worthy or noble-blooded man.

The sword Fragarach of Celtic myth was forged by the gods and passed down from the god of the sea (Manannan mac Lir) to Lugh Lamfada then to the hero Cúchulainn. No one could tell a lie with Fragarach at his throat, thus it acquired the name “The Answerer”. It could cut through any shield or wall, no armor could stop it, so it was also called “The Retaliator”. Its wielder was also granted command over the wind, and so it was also called “The Sword of Air”.

The shield gifted Lancelot by The Lady of the Lake instantly cured fatigue and gave him the strength of three men. King Arthur’s famous blade was also given him by the Lady of the Lake (water fairies figure prominently in Welsh traditions), and originally called Caledfwlch (Welsh, roughly “steel-cleaver”), Calesvol (Cornish), to Caliburnus (Geoffrey of Monmouth), corrupted further on the Continent afterwards to Calibrun, Escalibourc and Escalibor, now called Excalibur. Its blade blazed with the light of 30 torches when drawn, to blind the wielder’s foes, no armor could stand against it, and its scabbard saved the wearer from blood loss due to his wounds.

But war harness, while most common, are not the only such items occurring in ancient traditions. Megingjörð (Old Norse “power-belt”) is the Girdle of Strength worn by Thor which doubled his already godly strength; from Odin’s gold ring called Draupnir (“the dripper”) eight gold rings of equal weight fell (“dripped”) every ninth night; the great golden ring of the Nibelung gave the wearer the power to rule the world; Andvarinaut (“Andvari’s Gift”) is a magical ring capable of producing gold, first owned by the dwarf Andvari. The mischievous Norse god Loki tricked Andvari into giving Andvarinaut to him. In revenge, Andvari cursed the ring to bring destruction to whoever possessed it.

Babr-e Bayan is the mythical fire-proof, water-proof and weapon-proof coat worn in battle by the legendary Persian hero Rostam; Seven League Boots appear a number of times in the folktales of several different countries, each stride carrying the wearer 21 miles; The Lia Fáil, also called the Stone of Destiny, would roar in joy when the rightful High King of Ireland put his feet on it, thus revealing who should rightfully be king, as well as having the power to rejuvenate that king and give him a long reign;

The Cup of Jamshid (“djem-SHEED”) is a cup of divination which was long possessed by the rulers of ancient Persia, which was filled with an elixir of immortality and used in scrying. One could observe all the seven heavens of the universe in it, the whole of the Mortal World was also reflected in it, and divinations made with the Cup were said to reveal deep truths.

The Horn of Brân Galed (“the Stingy”) had the magical property of filling itself with (conjuring) whatever drink the holder might wish to find within it; the Hamper of Gwyddno Garanhir would multiply the foodstuffs put into by 100, so if food for a single man was put inside it, there would be found in it food for 100 when next it was opened; whatever horse the owner of the Halter of Clydno Eiddyn might wish for, he would find (conjured) wearing the halter on waking (kept stapled to the foot of the bed of the owner in the saga), but this could be easily altered to be any beast the owner desired, at the GM’s discretion; the Crock and the Dish of Rhygenydd the Cleric had the magical property of filling themselves with (conjuring) whatever food the holder might wish to find within them; the Chessboard of Gwenddoleu ap Ceidio consisted of a board of gold and men of silver, and the pieces would play by themselves after they were set for the viewer’s entertainment (and perhaps for his instruction in strategy). These objects are all notable for having been taken from among the 13 (magickal) Treasures of the Isle of Britain.

Potions of all sorts having any number of effects and other similar consumable substances are also very common in folklore, but the greatest of these was undoubtedly that elixir of immortality produced by the Philosopher’s Stone, the secrets of which comprised the eternal quest of the Alchemists. Consumable substances of magickal effect such as potions and any of the magickal substances described in the Alchemist trade and skills should be the GM’s first and most common resort when he decides to bring “magickal items” into play. Their consumable, disposable nature makes them desirable but allows their supply to be easily controlled in such a manner as not to completely upset the balance of power between the PC’s and their foes in the game.

Rather than investing the magick in the weapon itself, the practitioner might invest the dweomer in the scabbard, as King Arthur’s scabbard for Caledfwlch was with the equivalent of “Stay Blood” in RoM terms. In the same vein, it would be quite handy to have a sharpening stone imbued with an “Implacable Edge” charm for treating weapons prior to going into battle, and a cleaning cloth imbued with “Clean” and “Shine” would make keeping armor and weapons clean and bright MUCH easier. Such an item would have a smaller impact on game balance, providing temporary magick for the characters’ weapons, subject to the condition of getting the chance to treat the weapon with the stone first.

While there certainly is nothing odd about a character who takes a sharpening stone to his weapon to maintain it, constantly insisting on being allowed time to do so before (rather than after) each battle, perhaps even when time is of the essence will be cause for raising suspicions as to the actual value and purpose of that stone.

This provides another similar type of magickal item whose inclusion provides the PC’s with a hint of magick, its presence and flavor, without upsetting the balance of power.

The items commonly carried in the Mortal World by denizens of Færie will almost invariably fall into the 1st Order. These are the ones which facilitate their interaction with mortals, cloaking their presence, in some cases being the key to passage between the mortal and spirit realms, allowing them to breathe water, as detailed in the description of the species of færie as applicable. Some of these creatures will actually be stranded in the mortal sphere without their magick item (hat, broach, pin, ring, etc.).

In regards to these enchanted (færie) hats, caps, shoes, veils, gloves, and the like, the magick inherent in them will generally not manifest until they are donned (unless the creator specifies otherwise). A cap that bestows invisibility might be rather difficult to find if it were always invisible. For those made by mortals, the situation may be a bit different, however. It might be just as important to the maker that the enchantments of a piece or garment of armor protect the material or fabric of the armor itself as they protect the wearer.

Enchanted items can cause the GM a bit of a headache OR set his imagination free, for enchanted items can take ANY form, whether they come of Færie or not. They can be as complex or elaborate as the GM himself wishes (or the PC’s in his game who gain the power to do so can contrive). There are really only three criteria of importance when the GM wants to create an item to bring into play and those are A) what does the GM want the item to be capable of manifesting – what are its powers? Make a list, then thumb through the Compendium in the Grimoire and find the equivalents in game terms. Next, B) how powerful are those magicks to be? The GM can use the Levels of Difficulty table to set a range for rolling dice, or pick, but either way it is a good general guide. However, the GM also needs to refer to C) how readily available does the GM want the item’s power to be, and should it be renewable? This determines the Order of the enchantments, but this may change the parameters of the POT available when releasing the magick from the item, so the GM is likely to have to juggle these two aspects a little before he finds a compromise between them which suits his purposes.

While there is a general principle that the magick imbued in an item be “appropriate” to the common physical use or function of the item, such as described for the enchantments applied to a Master’s Tools, that really is NOT a requirement for common objects. That bond in purpose between the magick and an item’s purpose or use merely creates a bond which makes the enchantment easier to cast on the object (reducing the DV). It is required when working with a Master’s Tools because of the energy already present in the object and the manner in which it accumulated/was generated.

Weapons or items which are treated to a perpetual and permanent “Frost Brand” or “Flame Brand” enchantment must have some scabbard or case in which they can be stored when not in use that has been treated to an equally permanent “Caloric Charm” to contain its elemental frost or fire, otherwise it can wreak great damage on all it touches and those that come within reach of it flames or frost. The scabbard is likely to have been made at the same time as the sword, in this case, and the one wearing that scabbard the only one protected from the power of the sword. Any foe pulling the sword from its scabbard while it is hanging at the owner’s belt is in for a potentially deadly surprise.